

Please join us @ Upcoming Tournament

The first local tournament of 2020 is February 13-16 at the Dunwoody Doubletree. That location continues to be very popular with our members. Tournament Chair, Jack Feagin has arranged the usual menu of treats, events, lessons, etc. that you have come to expect. Feb Super Sectional This tournament will also feature the annual DBAA/Unit 253 Pairs Championship events scheduled for Saturday. These two-session championship event winners will have their names added to the honor plaques currently hanging at ADBC.

OF INTEREST: Under ACBL policy, Units no longer have responsibility regarding inappropriate behavior by our members. We have been directed to send all player memos or reported incidents to the District 7 Recorder, Peter Boyd-Bowman or to his local assistant, Patty Tucker, patty@bridgewithpatty.com. This policy applies to members and others participating in a sanctioned event (like a Sectional tournament) or any ACBL sanctioned events at our clubs relating to complaints of alleged cheating or serious breach of ethics.

Please see our newly updated, revised, and searchable Policies & Procedures manual that will be posted very soon.

The primary responsibility of the DBAA (also known as Unit 253 of the ACBL) is to promote Bridge in the Atlanta metropolitan area. In that role, the DBAA organizes, promotes, develops, and manages many different bridge activities to benefit the area players and to encourage new players to join our ranks. We have an annual meeting of the membership to report our progress, our financial position and to elect officers. This year that meeting will be held Feb 16, during the lunch break, at the tournament site: The DoubleTree on Chamblee-Dunwoody Rd.

WHAT TO EXPECT: I am pleased to tell you that the DBAA is in sound financial condition and I offer you this <u>FINANCECHART</u> for a quick review. A complete financial report is available on our website: www.DBAA.us.

As for elections: I thank Mike Sheldon who graciously and expertly chaired the Nominating Committee along with his committee: Bill Kulbresh and Joan Duffy.

And, I thank Judy Fendrick who agreed to chair the Elections Committee.

Because we do not have any contested seats for the Board of Directors or Officers slots, the following nominees will be elected to the new Board at the annual meeting:

Officers: Marty Nathan-President

Linda Hagood-VP Denise DeAngelo-Sec

Barbara Fleming-Treas. Many thanks

Directors: Tom Drinkard

to

Becky Butler Crystal Schwind Sherry Lautares